top of page

I feel like I'm doing nothing but my blogs keep getting longer and longer

We've been here almost a whole entire month and for some reason, I feel like I've accomplished nothing, but my Facebook album and the length of this blog post are going to completely throw me under the bus and disagree with that statement.

On Saturday, we made our way to the British Museum. The British Museum is a museum that is dedicated to history, art and culture. Some of the most known pieces include the Rosetta Stone and (most) of the Parthenon sculptures (why these aren't in Greece I will never understand).

Sunday, we dragged ourselves out of bed early and made out way to a CAPA sponsored boat tour on the Thames. Despite the cold, rainy weather The boat tour itself was about 45 minutes and dropped us off at our final location of Greenwich, home of the Prime Meridian. For those of you who don't know what the Prime Meridian is, it is a line of longitude that defines where zero degrees is exactly. It splits the earth into the Eastern and Western Hemispheres. I remember visiting the Royal Observatory and the Prime Meridian with my family a few years back, but I was still excited to revisit it.

After walking up the (steep) hill to the observatory to see the Prime Meridian and take in the views of the city, we found ourselves in Greenwich Market where we had lunch (I need to stop buying food everywhere and anywhere). We walked under the Thames River and made our way back to the flat where we once again, did the homework (that we didn't saved until Sunday night... sorry Mom and Dad).

Monday was once again movie day! This week we watched Locke which stars Tom Hardy and is an hour and a half movie where Tom Hardy sits in his car on a drive from Birmingham to London and takes phone call after phone call. I assumed that this movie was going to be awful because how interesting can a movie filmed in one location where we only see one actor be? In case you're wondering, it was wonderful and this is definitely another movie that I would recommend if you have the time.

For lunch on Monday I went to Garfunkels with Billy and Emily Mason. It's a typical London chain and the food was alright; nothing amazing, but nothing that I would avoid eating in the future. The break was short lived as I made my way back to school for my internship class, which once again, wasted my time. I blame Pitt for this because they gave us multiple presentations on what to expect in London and in the work place, so thanks for that Pitt but also why am I wasting a hour and a half to hear things that I've already heard?

Tuesday I attended a small round table with about 35 major companies in regards to their policies with domestic violence and how they accommodate those affected by it in the work place. It was hosted at Hogan Lovells, a very important law firm (or so I'm told and with the very limited knowledge I have of businesses and what not, I'm not going to dispute it). I was thrown into taking notes, attendance and greeting the company representatives as they entered the room. I spent the rest of the day after the round table typing up notes from the conference and formatting them.

Wednesday I worked a 9-5 like a real adult. Most of the day was spent reading research reports and formatting my own report on the affects of domestic abuse in the work place, what other countries were doing and other statistics surrounding the issues. Later that day, I found out that I would be presenting my research in the House of Commons the following Wednesday. (I'm not nervous. I'm not freaking out. I'm not old enough for this? Someone call my parents).

Despite the build up of nervousness and anxiety I was facing, I booked my train to Paris for March when my friends come to visit. Although I haven't left London yet, the stream of traveling that will be coming up at the end of February and all through March keeps me going.

Thursday was another day of all day classes and I'm not going to lie to you, Thursday is the day that I dread every week. It should be the most exciting day due to the fact that it's my last day of real work and real school until the following Monday, but goddamn it's awful to be in CAPA for 8 hours in one day with a hour break that I can't do anything with.

Friday morning I did a little bit of work before making my way to the Wellcome Collection with Billy. I'm not exactly sure what this museum was or is or what it was trying to be, but I will probably never go back there ever again. I found it on a list of "hidden gems in London" and I'm sure that to some people it was interesting but- I'm just so confused after my experience there. There were only three exhibits (I think) and most of the stuff in there was weird, which it did warn me about on the website but I didn't think it would be to that extent.

Afterwards, we went to Baker Street to see the location of the fictional detective, Sherlock Holmes. We stopped briefly at his flat on 221B Baker Street, but decided to opt out of paying money to go into a museum that is based around a fictional character. From there, we found ourselves in Regents Park once again where we walked through a large majority of the area itself, making our way to the Queen's Gardens. I'm sure the Queen's Gardens are wonderful when it's not winter and the plants aren't all dead.

Saturday afternoon we went to Borough Market. Borough Market was filled with mostly food vendors and Rose and Liz were LIVING for the free samples. It was a covered market which was nice because (once again), it looked like it was going to rain.

Afterwards, we went to Portobello Market which had more of a mix of food and general stands that you'd see at any market. The roads were closed off and the houses that adorned both sides of the road were extremely colorful. Personally, I preferred Portobello Market to Borough Market, but they were both nice. Portobello Market was more spread out and despite the large amount of people who were there that afternoon, I didn't feel as cramped as I did at Borough Market. It was here, at Portobello Market, that I ate the best doughnut I've ever had the pleasure of consuming in my entire life. Oh man, if you ever have the chance and an extra £1.25, please go buy a doughnut from Portobello market (I didn't catch the name of the stand but I will report back with that information because if you don't think I'm going back, you're lying to yourself).

After the market, we came home to relax for a little bit before we headed to Belushi's, a sports bar, to watch 6 Nations rugby where England and France were playing each other. The atmosphere of the bar itself was fun and comfortable and that was even before England had pulled off a 19-16 win.

Sunday was an early morning for Rose, Emily and me. We decided that we don't even like sleep and made our way to the National Gallery in Trafalgar Square just moments after it opened. Inside, we saw Impressionist works by none other than Vincent Van Gogh himself.

After spending about two hours at the museum, Rose, Emily and I walked through Picadilly Circus and made our way to Hamley's, the oldest and largest toy store in the world which was located on Regent Street an about a 15 minute walk from Trafalgar Square. There the three of us met up with Tori, Liz and Billy before exploring five floors of toys.

Hamley's had everything from Lego recreations of the queen (and her dog) to toy demonstrations to a build a bear, etc. It was like a more condensed Toys R Us (Rip Times Square Toys R Us).

Next, we went to Harrod's and once again I don't think that I could've afforded to breathe in there. Emily, Rose, Billy and I found ourselves trying to guess how much certain pieces of clothing were. At one point, an employee asked us if we needed help and then continued to tell us about the shirt that we were holding in our hand which was a "hand stitched Egyptian Cotton button down. The buttons on the shirt were made of white pearls and there was an emblem which was hand stitched with 18k gold." The best part was it was only £610! We immediately put the shirt down after we realized it was worth more than any of us. Whilst at the store, we also viewed a £22,000 mink coat that was cheetah print and made by Gucci. (Do people genuinely buy things like this? Sorry @Gucci).

After getting lost on the second floor that looked like it was straight out of a movie and didn't belong in a department store, we escaped to something more familiar to us. We once again found ourselves wandering through the toy section on the third floor where there was a lego recreation of Harrod's.

On the same floor, there were collectables including CDs signed by artists such as Beyonce and One Direction (all five members too), jerseys signed by Christiano Ronaldo and Steph Curry and guitars signed by rock legends (just to name a few things).

Finally, we ended the day at Primark where there were things I could afford. I had to hold back from spending all my money because I love Primark. We recently got a location at King of Prussia mall and Willow Grove Mall.

The rest of the night was spent doing homework so that we would be able to watch the Superbowl which started around 11:50pm here in London and ran until about 4:00am. We didn't really have a specific team in mind so we were here for the half time show and commercials. But guess what? We also didn't get the commercials so what was the point?

Being in London the past month has been fun, but we are all bugging to get out of the city. Many people that we go to school with have started to travel outside the country and we're starting to be envious despite the fact that there will not be a single weekend for about five weeks where we will be in London because of spring break, friends visiting and St. Patrick's Day. Hopefully we'll be able to explore another part of the country sometime soon, or maybe even book a last minute flight somewhere for a weekend! (fingers crossed)

bottom of page